Home Featured Sidebar Various Artists – Defined 01 [Replug]

Various Artists – Defined 01 [Replug]

0 second read
Defined 01 [Replug]

Celebrating its 50th release Cid Inc's Replug Records proudly presents the first installment of its 'Defined' series. These Various Artists EP collections will showcase a broad range of electronic music talent. Whether it be new additions to the roster or music which works optimally in this unique format, each release will be a snapshot in time stylistically as it adheres to Replug's sonic ethos. Featured on the first installment are (in order of appearance) Ampish, Erdi Irmak, Ezequiel Arias, GMJ and Qoob.

Hazem Beltagui has quickly established his Ampish alias as one of Egypt's top progressive house exports. His fresh and groovy approach has been a favourite of Hernan Cattaneo while landing him key releases on flora (formerly Bad Pony). Now making his much anticipated Replug debut he kicks the release off with 'Sweet Resonance'. It's warm, well contoured groove and organic percussion set the tone for the entire collection. Encased in an atmospheric haze is an enchanting narrative, led by free flowing harmonics and a spirited break. Full of soul and emotion it’s a captivating storyboard with just the right amount of grandiose flair.

The collection's second offering welcomes Erdi Irmak to the label for his debut appearance. The Turkish artist has been a staple in Beatport's progressive house charts this year and boasts an extensive discography highlighted by releases on Asymmetric Recordings and Juicebox Music. His unique and quirky style has also found its way into the charts of Hernan Cattaneo, and his latest creation entitled ‘Eternal Return’ looks set for a similar fate. From deep and driving beginnings, the Turkish artist blends rhythmic themes and shimmering motifs into the mix. Undeniably catchy, subtle modulation and powerful percussion adorn the rolling groove before an astral break sets up a smooth third act finale.

Ezequiel Arias has been one of 2017's most pleasant surprises. A staple in the sets of Hernan Cattaneo and Nick Warren, the Argentinean artist also owns releases on Guy Mantzur's Plattenbank Records. Now making his much anticipated Replug debut Ezequiel presents some of his best ever work with ‘Spaceless’. Following the ethos of the collection we're welcomed with a warm, rolling groove and wispy atmospherics. Airy swells, delicate tones and dulcet chord changes deliver an exquisite first act. A wonderfully crafted break elevates the mood once more; elegant and a touch cinematic, it sets up a groovy, percussive drop that's sure to be magic on your dance floor.

Next up, GMJ returns to the label following a contribution to the 'Replugged, Vol. 2' collection released in December of last year. The Aussie artist has long been one of his country’s most creative talents. Dating back to his early work on Vapour Recordings to more recent outings which have earned the praise of Hernan Cattaneo, Nick Warren and Guy J. His latest 'Inside A Mystery' showcases his refined approach perfectly. Set against a bed of rippling bass and phasing atmospherics it's a concisely constructed seven minute journey. A haze of vocal effects, buzzing tones and layers of percussion push the narrative forward before creamy motifs lift the mood into a buzzing finale.

The release concludes with Qoob making their first appearance on the label. Residing in New York and the Ukraine respectively, Kirill Andreev & Eugene Maltsev make up the Qoob production duo. These cross continent collaborations have landed Qoob releases on Lonya's Asymmetric Recordings while earning support from Hernan Cattaneo in the process. Material from the duo has been scarce this year, making their Replug debut all the more anticipated. 'Oxymore' encompasses all the cosmic qualities the duo have become so loved for, but an added emotional narrative makes it one of their most well rounded to date. Spiralling organics and a robust framework set the tone for a journey into spaced out soundscapes, capped off perfectly with a warm, vibrant finale. 

Expertly curated, Replug's inaugural edition of 'Defined' captures the spirit of progressive music, taking the listener on an unparalleled, evolving journey from start to finish.

Buy: http://bit.ly/2wATJQy
Release Date: 09-10-2017

Release Promo: http://releasepromo.com

► PA Booking Enquiries: management@progressiveastronaut.com
► Subscribe: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSubscribe
► Follow Me On Soundcloud: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSC
► Website: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautWEB
► Follow Me On Facebook: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautFB
► Follow Me On Twitter: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautTW
► Instagram: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautIG

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Release Promo
Load More In Featured Sidebar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *