Home Featured small Stereo Underground – The Art of Silence (Original Mix) [Balance]

Stereo Underground – The Art of Silence (Original Mix) [Balance]

0 second read

It’s often said that the gaps in between the notes are as important as the notes themselves. Stereo Underground pays homage to that attitude on his magical debut album, The Art of Silence, immersing the listener in widescreen atmospherics, succinct, spacious arrangements and stunning melody throughout. This wonderful record for Balance Music follows previous full-length artist albums on the Australian label from the likes of Clarian and Brian Cid.

Born in Haifa, in the North of Israel, the artist otherwise known as Yariv Etzion begin his musical life as a drummer, spending his younger years circulating in the city’s hard rock scene. He discovered electronic music as a teenager when he moved to Tel Aviv, and soon began working at a record shop and DJing. His popularity rapidly grew, and production soon followed. His output as Stereo Underground began 2009, and in his debut year he received high praise from Mixmag and heavy DJ support for his hypnotic, progressive sounds. The project has always shown a great sense of musicality and ambition, and this full-length debut album is the natural culmination of his efforts over the last decade.

“An album, in my opinion, is the holy grail for a musician” he says. “I waited 38 years to give myself the peace of mind I needed to do so. It took me 10 months of writing, recording, sound design and mixing to create the final result.” That meant doing so in both the mental and physical sense. He took the decision to relocate to a wooden house in the countryside to create this stunning album, turning down incredibly high-profile festival bookings plus remix offers and release requests in order to dedicate himself to his vision. It’s an admirable approach that has yielded dividends.

From the conceptual, ambient tones of openerFlying Glow (Prologue) through to the spine-tingling, airy breakbeats of closer For A Moment of Truth, this is a record full of slow-burning nuance and hypnotic progressions that induce a dream-like state in the listener. There’s mellow piano tones on The Art Of Silence, Moderat-tinged indie/dance crossover on Little Red Headand trancey euphoria on Above The Sea Of Fog. Echoesplunges into deeper territory and Breakfast on Marsgives a hazy, beatless breather mid-way through. Lost in Wordsis a fragile exercise in subtlety, with Wanderlust continuing the focused feel with a little more urgency. Mind Hunterteases with its incessant bleeps and squeals and early Underworld textures, while Technomalayayields a soaring crescendo before the broken rhythms of thecloser. It’s perfectly formed, segued and sequenced to present a truly cohesive, compelling vision.

► YouTube: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSubscribe
► Soundcloud: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSC
► Website: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautWEB
► Facebook: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautFB
► Twitter: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautTW
► Instagram: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautIG

Buy: bit.ly/2HoNY0d
Release Date: 17-05-2019

► Stereo Underground ♫

► Balance Music ♫

01. Flying Glow (Prologue)
02. The Art of Silence
03. Little Red Head feat. Sealine
04. Above the Sea of Fog
05. Echoes
06. Breakfast on Mars
07. Lost in Words
08. Wanderlust
09. Mind Hunter
10. Technomalya
11. For A Moment of Truth


ALL PREMIERS: soundcloud.com/progressiveastronaut/sets/premieres

ALL FREE DOWNLOADS: soundcloud.com/progressiveastronaut/sets/free-downloads

ALL PODCAST EPISODES: soundcloud.com/progressiveastronaut/sets/progressive-astronaut-mixes

Load More Related Articles
Load More By ProgressiveAstronaut
Load More In Featured small

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *