Home Releases Sean McClellan – Strike Zone [Salt Records]

Sean McClellan – Strike Zone [Salt Records]

8 min read

Presenting their first release of 2020, Salt Records welcomes Sean McClellan to the label with 'Strike Zone'. The US artist has been a fixture of the electronic underground for the better part of two decades, having showcased his music on Bedrock, Balkan Connection, Crossfade Sounds and Pangea Recordings. Now following releases on JourneyDeep Records and Soundscapes Digital to begin 2020, the North Carolina resident debuts on Salt Records with 'Strike Zone', alongside remixes from Matt Black, 2 Reels, Denis J and Paper Samurai.

The original mix kicks the release off with both groovy and atmospheric qualities. It’s deliberate cadence is nicely accentuated with spacey arps and cascading bass tones. Timely effects and percussive flurries further the storyboard before an emotive theme and vocal element converge for poignant moments. A short but effective break resets the groove, perfectly setting up a final act of nostalgic chord changes and more effected vocal magic.

Also making his label debut is Matt Black who much like Sean has etched out a long history in electronic music. Since first appearing in the mid 2000s, the UK artist and former Segment Records boss has landed releases on Bonzai, Black Hole Recordings, Perfecto and Pro B Tech Music. Always a creative remixer, Matt now crafts a stunning rendition of 'Strike Zone', complementing the original quite nicely. It starts with the low end; rich, fluid and full of robust character, it lays the perfect foundation for fragmented vocals and effervescent lines to work their magic. The spirit of the original is well maintained as classic chord changes pull at your heartstrings during a gorgeous break, while a stripped down section leads nicely into a fluid final. Lovely stuff from Matt.

Next up Salt label bosses 2 Reels return for their first remix following two originals to begin the imprints journey. Crisp and groovy in equal measure, the Los Angeles duo reprocesses the vocal into something a touch more ghostly as it sits against a backdrop of haunting harmonics, layered beats and percussive rides. There’s a delicate tension sitting under those glowing atmospheres and it’s this unique contrast in conjunction with a funky acid line which ultimately makes for such a great listen.

Shifting gears is Isle of Jersey artist Denis J who provides a great complement to it's predecessors with a trance inspired take. The tempo shifts up a notch along with it's rhythmic prowess and electric sounding core, almost reminiscent of some early 2000's Paul Van Dyk. Tight metallic arps continue to build tension across the first act, before getting washed away into a cavernous break where delicate tones and growling synths cue a powerful drop and storming finale.

The release concludes with Paper Samurai also making his label debut and bringing fresh ideas to 'Strike Zone'. It is the UK artist's master-stoke to incorporate the vocals of Richard Wolfe, which work in perfect unison with the sample from the original, while a bed of broken beats and piercing lines provide a tense yet emotive undercurrent across it's near ten minute journey. Unique and inspired stuff from Paper Samurai which caps off a very well rounded release for Salt Records once again. Don't miss it.

Buy: https://bit.ly/2RtSXBb

Release Date: 10-04-2020

Release Promo: http://releasepromo.com

► YouTube: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSubscribe
► Soundcloud: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautSC
► Website: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautWEB
► Facebook: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautFB
► Twitter: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautTW
► Instagram: bit.ly/ProgressiveAstronautIG

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Release Promo
Load More In Releases

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *